Reviews & Press

REVIEWS

  • "Owen is a gentle writer who tenderly sifts through his characters’ lives, revealing the losses and regrets that stalk them."

—The New York Times Book Review

  • “A book to treasure . . . these stories are timeless character studies, bolstered by lovely prose and equally stunning insights. This is a collection to read slowly and savor, stories to read again and again. There is no doubt that Owen is writing in the tradition of William Trevor and Yiyun Li.”

—Ploughshares

  • “D. Wystan Owen’s debut collection of linked stories, Other People’s Love Affairs, is cause for celebration among readers who finished the final page of the late William Trevor’s Last Stories with regret, and who still hold onto hope that Alice Munro will come out of retirement.”

—NY Journal of Books

  • “Owen’s style of expression and unique metaphors can be so beautiful they make one stop and reread . . . engaging . . Owen is a subtle and keen storyteller whose focus on love and relationships reminds us that headlines and hot topics hold no substance next to tales of the human heart.”

—Booklist 

  • "Delicate portraits of... complicated lives... An impressive debut."

—Shelf Awareness

  • “A lovely work of quiet, heart-wrenching prose.”

—Publishers Weekly

  • “In ten linked stories, Owen explores 'the realm of human love' through the wistful perspective of characters living in the seaside village of Glass. A delicately crafted first collection.”

—BBC.com

  • “Owen crafts lovely sentences... Other People’s Love Affairs is more than an exceptional debut; it is a masterful work by a writer in full possession of his many gifts."

—The Cedar Rapids Gazette

  • “Owen’s ability to convey the beauty and grace in small moments of loss and connection, heartbreak and triumph, signals a rare new literary voice, whose words will echo in your head long after you read them.”

—Nylon.com

  • "Extraordinary..."

—The San Francisco Chronicle

  • "Exquisite... gorgeous prose... strongly reminiscent of Alice Munro's ordinary affairs of the heart... a worthwhile read for any lover of poetic—and poignant—commentary on the human condition."

—Washington Independent Review of Books

OTHER PRESS